Facebook
Twitter

Asteroid 2012 DA 14 - Closest Approach to Earth

Astronomers around the world expected that Asteroid 2012 DA 14 would be approximately 17,200 miles from the Earth's surface when it passed overhead on the 15th of February, 2013.

According to the Gingin Observatory in Australia - where astronomers observed the asteroid - it was 17,150 miles (27,600 km) away at  11:24:42 a.m. PST (2:24:42 p.m. EST, or 19:24:24 UTC) - the time of its closest approach. 

 


Media Credits

Images courtesy of Gingin Observatory/Tonello - video online courtesy NASA/JPL.

 

To cite this story (For MLA citation guidance see easybib or OWL ):

"Asteroid 2012 DA 14 - Closest Approach to Earth" AwesomeStories.com. Oct 07, 2013. Oct 23, 2017.
       <https://www.awesomestories.com/asset/view/Asteroid-2012-DA-14-Closest-Approach-to-Earth/1>.
Awesome Stories Silver or Gold Membership Required
Awesome Stories Silver or Gold Membership Required
Show tooltips