Beethoven - Appassionata, First Movement

Sviatoslav Richter plays the first movement (allegro assai) of Beethoven's Appassionata - Piano Sonata No. 23 in F minor.

Ted Libbey has referred to this work as "Beethoven's Carefully Choreographed Violence."  When you listen to it, you will understand why.  Libbey also notes:

The Appassionata is played with a real sense of strength and anger, which goes to the core of what Beethoven was trying to convey in the music. The notes all sound clean, but at the same time, there is a sense of force, thrust and violence.

Media Credits

First movement of the Appassionata, performed by Sviatoslav Richter.  Online, courtesy YouTube.

Quoted passage from "Beethoven's Carefully Choreographed Violence," by Ted Libbey.  Online, courtesy NPR.


To cite this story (For MLA citation guidance see easybib or OWL ):

"Beethoven - Appassionata, First Movement" AwesomeStories.com. Oct 07, 2013. Sep 18, 2018.
Awesome Stories Silver or Gold Membership Required
Awesome Stories Silver or Gold Membership Required
Show tooltips