Map - Northern Ireland / Ulster

Map - Northern Ireland / Ulster Geography Social Studies World History Visual Arts

Before six counties in the northern part of Ireland were known as "Northern Ireland," they were part of the "Ulster Plantation." 

At the behest of Queen Elizabeth I, who wanted to "colonize" Ireland, Brits and Scots traveled to the Ulster Plantation to settle and raise their families.

Many of these new settlers were Protestants.  They settled in a country which was mostly Catholic.

As a result of these actions, and these differences, there have been times of trouble in Ireland.

Note that the areas depicted in green on this map - County Donegal and County Monaghan - were part of Ulster but are now part of the Republic of Ireland.

Click on the image for a better view.

0 Question or Comment?
click to read or comment
2 Questions 2 Ponder
click to read and respond
0 It's Awesome!
vote for your favorite

Author: Carole D. Bos, J.D. 5183stories and lessons created

Original Release: Oct 07, 2013

Updated Last Revision: Oct 20, 2019

Media Credits

Map image online, courtesy Ireland-Map.co.uk


To cite this story (For MLA citation guidance see easybib or OWL ):

"Map - Northern Ireland / Ulster" AwesomeStories.com. Oct 07, 2013. Oct 20, 2019.
Awesome Stories Silver or Gold Membership Required
Awesome Stories Silver or Gold Membership Required
Show tooltips